Song & Verse: Getting Reacquainted with James Ingram at Duane Reade

Talk about a blast from the past! While making a quick pit stop at Duane Reade before hopping on the subway, I was surprised to hear “I Don’t Have the Heart” by James Ingram on over the speaker. It’s been so long since I’ve heard that song, I started singing along while walking through the aisles! Yes, I got quite a few looks that suggested I should lower my voice. I couldn’t.

I Don’t Have the Heart

“I don’t have the heart to hurt you. It’s the last thing I want to do. But I don’t have the heart to love you…not the way you want me to.”
With direct, yet tender, honesty like this, how can you not remain a Lady? 🙂

(James Ingram, 1990)

There’s No Easy Way (James Ingram, c. 1984)

What a telling sign of the changed times – I came home to youtube him rather than look for my greatest hits CD.
Do you remember this? “When it falls apart, there’s no easy way to break somebody’s heart.”

(James Ingram, c. 1984)

Where Did My Heart Go?

(James Ingram, 1991)

Baby Come to Me

Goodness! Baby Come to Me was my FAVORITE song as kid! Is this why old folks called me an old soul??? 🙂

(James Ingram and Patti Austin, 1984)

Just Once

“Just once, can we figure out what we keep doing wrong? Why the good times never last for long? Can we find a way to finally make it right?”

(James Ingram, 1981)

All these lovely, respectful and enduring break-up songs and he still had the tender forethought to leave us with hope. Somewhat.

Somewhere Out There

(James Ingram and Linda Ronstadt, 1986)

Now on to Peabo Bryson! Enjoy your weekend, folks!

Comment

